Tried & True and New: Picture Books

Our storytime experts are bringing you reviews of the latest from our Easy collection (or picture books) as well as some of their favorites used during storytime. We have thousands of picture books at each library, so this is just a small introduction to the collection. See all of our Tried & True and New reviews here on the blog.

One Blue Gnu by Danna Smith

Reviewed by: Maggie Fox

One blue gnu is having a party and a line of telephone gets started in this counting tale. When times for the party, over 50 animals are having one fun until one tiger shows up. What is he going to do? This is a fun counting book with introductions to all sorts of animals ready to have a good time at the pool party – a perfect summertime read.

Read-alikes:

  • Counting Crows by Kathi Appelt
  • Cha-Cha Chimps by Julia Durango
  • Counting Through the Day by Margaret Hamilton
  • Hootenanny!: A Festive Counting Book by Kimberly Ainsworth
  • Swallow the Leader: A Counting Book by Danna Smith

Whose Moon Is That? By Kim Krans

Reviewed by: Sarah Deay

Who owns nature? Who owns the moon? A curious cat and other friends wonder about that together, and each one thinks that they should own the moon. Finally, the moon itself suggests that nature belongs to no one – and to everyone.  This book has a sweet storyline and is also a perfect way to start a conversation with your child about appreciating and taking care of the planet that we all share. The breathtakingly beautiful ink and watercolor illustrations are great for appreciating from up close or from farther away, like during storytime!

Read-alikes:

  • I Took the Moon for a Walk by Carolyn Curtis
  • Star Climbing by Lou Fancher
  • Hello, Moon by Julie Downing
  • 123 Dream by Kim Krans
  • Papa, Please Get the Moon For Me by Eric Carle

Coffee, Rabbit, Snowdrop, Lost by Betina Birkjær

Reviewed by: Stephanie Tamayo

Stump loves spending time with her grandfather Kaj! Grandpa knows the Latin names of his 123 flowers and he’s pretty good at helping Stump with her jigsaw puzzles. But then grandpa becomes confused and sad more frequently; he even forgets the Latin names of his beloved flowers. Coffee Rabbit Snowdrop lovingly depicts the bond between grandparents and grandkids. The book includes a helpful and educational afterward to learn more about how to help our loves ones with dementia. The illustrations make great use of soft, gouache pastel colors that crate a dreamlike quality and portray the shifting moods and tones throughout the story. 

Read-alikes: 

  • The Remember Balloons by Jessie Oliveros 
  • Grandad’s Camper by Harry Woodgate 
  • If You Miss Me by Jocelyn Li Langrand 
  • My Nana’s Garden by Dawn Casey 

Thingamabob by Marianna Coppo

Reviewed by: Erik Knapp

Once the Universe was created every little thing found its place, except for one small, shapeless Thingamabob. Being neither this nor that, the Thingamabob had a hard time fitting in, until he found someone who needed just what the Thingamabob could be – everything – but most importantly, a friend. Thingamabob is the perfect story for a young child looking to find their place in their group, family or school. Read it to your child and take some time to discuss it with them.

Read-alikes:

  • Leonardo the Terrible Monster by Mo Willems
  • I Like Me! By Nancy Carlson
  • Mr. Pusskins by Sam Lloyd
  • Some Dogs Do by Jez Alborough
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.