Selfie Book Talk, Episode 29

Your Plano Public Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of these titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out.

See all Selfie Book Talk posts here.


https://youtu.be/Y2Gchjy934U


The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae

Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Toni S. at Parr Library

Genre: Memoir

Description: Being an introvert in a world that glorifies cool isn’t easy. But when Issa Rae, the creator of the Shorty Award-winning hit series “The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl,” is that introvert, it sure is entertaining. In this debut collection of essays written in her witty and self-deprecating voice, Rae covers everything from cybersexing in the early days of the Internet to deflecting unsolicited comments on weight gain, from navigating the perils of eating out alone and public displays of affection to learning to accept yourself-natural hair and all.

The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl Read-alikes:

You Can’t Touch My Hair and Other Things I Still Have to Explain by Phoebe Robinson, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay, available as Print | eBook |  eAudiobook

The Awkward Thoughts of W. Kamau Bell: Tales of a 6′ 4″, African American, Heterosexual, Cisgender, Left-leaning, Asthmatic, Black and Proud Blerd, Mama’s Boy, Dad, and Stand-up Comedian by W. Kamau Bell, available as Print | eBook


The Secret Bridesmaid by Katy Birchall

Available as: Print

Recommended by: Caitlyn T. at Harrington Library       

Genre: Fiction

Description from Novelist:  A professional bridesmaid, Sophie, hired for the society wedding of the year, must win over a reluctant bride and catch the eye of handsome Lord Swann, the bride’s dashing son – all while keeping her true identity a secret and her dignity intact.

The Secret Bridesmaid Read-alikes:

I Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella, available as Print | Large Print | eBook | eAudiobook | Playaway

Made in Manhattan by Lauren Layne, available as Print | eBook

Big Summer by Jennifer Weiner, available as Print | eBook  | eAudiobook


The Paper Palace by Miranda Cowley Heller

Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Brittnee E. at Schimelpfenig Library

Genre: Fiction

Description from Novelist: While staying at “The Paper Palace” — the family summer place she has visited every summer of her life — 50-year-old Elle must decide between the life she has built with her husband and the life she always imagined she would have had with her childhood love.

The Paper Palace Read-alikes:

Normal People by Sally Rooney, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Commonwealth by Ann Patchett, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Monogamy by Sue Miller, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook


Everything on a Waffle by Polly Horvath

Available as: Print | eAudiobook | CD Book

Recommended by: Amanda M. at Haggard Library

Genre: Junior Fiction

Description from Novelist: Eleven-year-old Primrose living in a small fishing village in British Columbia recounts her experiences and all that she learns about human nature and the unpredictability of life in the months after her parents are lost at sea.

Everything on a Waffle Read-alikes:

What Goes Up by Wen Jane Baragrey, available as Print

The Becket List: A Blackberry Farm Story by Adele Griffin , available as Print

The Dancing Pancake by Eileen Spinelli, available as Print


Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill

Recommended by: Nikki S. at Harrington Library

Available as:  Print | eBook | CD Book

Genre: Fiction

Description from Novelist: A collector of obscure and macabre artifacts, unscrupulous metal band musician Judas Coyne is unable to resist purchasing a ghost over the Internet, which turns out to be the vengeful spirit of his late girlfriend’s stepfather.

Heart-Shaped Box Read-alikes:

The Damned by Andrew Pyper, available as Print

Gwendy’s Button Box, by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Home Before Dark by Riley Sager, available as Print | Large Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.