Selfie Book Talk, Episode 28

Your Plano Public Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of these titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out.

See all Selfie Book Talk posts here.



Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Meredith D. at Harrington Library

Genre: Fantasy

Description from Novelist: Raised in a hostile undead world, a swordswoman becomes a bodyguard to a necromancer to secure her freedom in a solar system of dark magic and cutthroat politics.

Gideon the Ninth Read-alikes:

Unconquerable Sun by Kate Elliott, available as Print | eBook

The Stars are Legion by Kameron Hurley, available as Print | eBook

A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine, available as Print | eBook


Daughter of the Moon Goddess by Sue Lynn Tan

Available as: Print | eBook

Recommended by: Amy B. at Parr Library

Genre: Fantasy

Description from Novelist: A debut fantasy inspired by the legend of the Chinese moon goddess, Chang’e, in which a young woman’s quest to free her mother pits her against the most powerful immortal in the realm and sets her on a dangerous path–where choices come with deadly consequences, and she risks losing more than her heart.

Daughter of the Moon Goddess Read-alikes:

She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Sistersong by Lucy Holland, available as Print


Did You Hear What Eddie Gein Done? by Harold Schechter & Eric Powell

Available as: Print

Recommended by: Erik K. at Parr Library     

Description: The tale of one of the most notoriously deranged murderers in American history, Ed Gein, this graphic novel is an in-depth exploration of the Gein family and what led to the creation of the necrophile who haunted the dreams of 1950s. Painstakingly researched and illustrated, Schechter and Powell’s true-crime graphic novel takes the Gein story out of the realms of exploitation and gives the reader a fact-based dramatization of these tragic, psychotic, and heartbreaking events.

Did You Hear What Eddie Gein Done? Read-alikes:

Green River Killer: A True Detective Story by Jeff Jensen, available as Print

The Butcher of Paris by Stephanie Phillips, Dean Kotz, Jason Wordie & Troy Peteri, available as Print

From Hell: Being a Melodrama in Sixteen Parts by Alan Moore & Eddie Campbell, available as Print


The Handmaid’s Tale: The Graphic Novel by Margaret Atwood, art & adaptation by Renée Nault

Available as: Print | eBook | Spanish

Recommended by: Stephanie T. at Davis Library

Genre: Graphic Novel

Description from Novelist: Illustrated with high-contrast artwork, a graphic-novel adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s modern classic depicts the terrifying realities of women consigned to childbirth roles in the occupied Republic of Gilead.

The Handmaid’s Tale: The Graphic Novel Read-alikes:

Bitch Planet Book One: Extraordinary Machine by Kelly Sue DeConnick, illustrated by Valentine De Landro, available as Print

Woman World by Aminder Dhaliwal, available as Print

The Song of Aglaia by Anne Simon, available as Print


Hamsters Make Terrible Roommates by Cheryl B. Klein, illustrated by Abhi Alwar

Available as: Print

Recommended by: Nikki S. at Harrington Library

Genre: Children’s picture book

Description from Novelist: In this funny story about introverts vs. extroverts, Henry the hamster, who hasn’t had any peace and quiet since Marvin has become his roommate, must find a way to compromise in order to live in harmony.

Hamsters Make Terrible Roommates Read-alikes:

Pete the Cat and the New Guy by Kim Dean, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Croc & Turtle!: The Bestest Friends Ever!, by Mike Wohnoutka, available as Print

We Disagree by Bethanie Deeney Murguia, available as Print

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.