Selfie Book Talk, Episode 33

Your Plano Public Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of these titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out.

See all Selfie Book Talk posts here.



Why the People: The Case for Democracy by Beka Feathers with art by Ally Shwed

Available as: Print

Recommended by: Stephanie T. at Davis Library

Genre: Adult Graphic Nonfiction

Description: Is democracy actually the best form of government? Does it ever work like it’s supposed to? Join Lin and Julie in the middle of an airport, as they wonder aloud how America can ever be a democracy when citizens seem to disagree about everything. With them, we are whisked through political history, and journey through different systems of power, including monarchy, theocracy, dictatorship and oligarchy. Beka Feathers and Ally Shwed shine a bright light on power, justice, and the promise of true democracy.

Why the People Read-alikes:

Re:constitutions: Connecting Citizens with the Rules of the Game by Beka Feathers, with art by Katarzyna Babis, available in Print

What Unites Us: Reflections on Patriotism: The Graphic Novel by Dan Rather and Elliot Kirschner, with art by Tim Foley, available in Print

Free Speech Handbook: A Practical Framework for Understanding our Free Speech Protections by, Ian  Rosenberg, available in Print


In a Holidaze by Christina Lauren

Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Brittnee E. at Schimelpfenig Library

Genre: Adult Fiction

Description: It’s the most wonderful time of the year…but not for Maelyn Jones. She’s living with her parents, hates her going-nowhere job, and has just made a romantic error of epic proportions. When a Christmas wish has her reliving the same day over and over, Mae must figure out how to break free of the strange time loop–and finally get her true love under the mistletoe.

In a Holidaze Read-alikes:

One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook

People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry, available as Print | Large Print | eBook | eAudiobook

I Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella, available as Print | Large Print | eBook | eAudiobook


Say Nothing: A True Story of Murder and Memory in Northern Ireland by Patrick Radden Keefe

Available as:  Print | Large Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Jelita M. at Schimelpfenig Library

Genre: Adult Nonfiction

Description: Patrick Radden Keefe’s book on the bitter conflict in Northern Ireland and its aftermath uses the abduction of a Belfast housewife, Jean McConville, as a starting point for the tale of a society wracked by a violent guerrilla war, a war whose consequences have never been reckoned with. The brutal violence seared not only people like the McConville children, but also I.R.A. members embittered by a peace that fell far short of the goal of a united Ireland.

Say Nothing Read-alikes:

A Secret History of the IRA by Ed Moloney, available as Print

Rebel Hearts: Journeys Within the IRA’s Soul by Kevin Toolis, available as Print

The Irish Troubles: A Generation of Political Violence, 1967-1992 by J. Bowyer Bell , available in Print


The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror by Christopher Moore

Available as: Print  

Recommended by: Erik K. at Parr Library

Genre: Adult Fiction                       

Description from Novelist:  A humorous tale of what happens when a none-too-clever angel overhears a little boy, who, having witnessed Santa taking a shovel to the head, prays for Santa to return from the dead.

The Stupidest Angel Read-alikes:

Doomed by Chuck Palahniuk, available as Print | eBook

Secret Santa by Andrew Shaffer, available as Print | eBook

Krampus: The Yule Lord by Brom, available as Print


Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

Available as: Print | Playaway | eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Andrea C. at Haggard Library

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Description from Novelist: Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth-century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Truly Devious Read-alikes:

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes, available as Print | Playaway | eBook | eAudiobook

As I Descended by Robin Talley, available as Print

Two Can Keep a Secret by Karen M. McManus, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *