Tried & True and New: Picture Books
4 mins read

Tried & True and New: Picture Books

Our storytime experts are bringing you reviews of the latest from our Easy collection (or picture books) as well as some of their favorites used during storytime. We have thousands of picture books at each library, so this is just a small introduction to the collection. See all of our Tried & True and New reviews here on the blog.

King Kong’s Cousin by Mark Teague

Reviewed by: Erik Knapp

What if your cousin was the great and famous King Kong, what would you do? Well, if you’re Junior, you would make sure and eat your bamboo, keep up with your exercises and do your chores. Because you never know when your time to shine will come.

King Kong’s Cousin is a simple but completely engaging picturebook by one of all-time favorites. The black and white art gives it a classic appeal with adorable characters you can’t help but like. This book will captivate preschoolers over and over and possibly even inspire an interest in other famous movie monsters. 

Read-alikes: 

  • Anzu the Great Kaiju by Benson Shum 
  • The Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf
  • Willy the Wizard by Anthony Browne 
  • Not Yeti by Kelly DiPucchio 

The Little Thingsby Christian Trimmer; Illustrations by Kaylani Juanita 

Reviewed by: Stephanie Tamayo 

After a storm hits her hometown, a little girl inspires her neighbors to perform acts of kindness for each other and their shared community. At first, the neighbors feel disillusioned with the situation, but our protagonist’s thoughtfulness and determination create a chain reaction of generosity. 

The Little Thingsteaches kids about the power they have to brighten someone else’s day, even when the task ahead is daunting.  

Read-alikes:   

  • Bear Came Along by Richard T. Morris, Illustrated by LeUyen Pham  
  • Thank You, Omu! By Oge Mora  
  • Be Kind by Pat Zietlow Miller, Illustrated by Jen Hill  

forever home: a dog and boy love story by Henry Cole

Reviewed by: Erik Knapp

When a boy wants a dog more than anything, he has to prove to his parents that he is responsible enough to take care of one. When an abandoned dog starts searching for a new home, he finds the perfect choice right in his own neighborhood, a boy who wants a dog more than anything. 

forever home is a sweet book that doesn’t need words to tell its story. Told in beautiful (mostly) black and white art, it gets its message through loud and clear with even a couple of ingenious messages dropped in along the way. Children will delight in being able to add words to this delightful story over and over again. 

Read-alikes: 

  • A Boy, a Dog, and a Frog and Frog Goes to Dinner by Mercer Mayer 
  • Books by Chris Van Allsburg 
  • Books by David Wiesner 
  • The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick 

Georgie by Robert Bright

Reviewed by: Erik Knapp

Georgie is a little ghost that helps keep the Whittaker house running smoothly. When he gives the loose board on the stairs a little creak, and the parlor door a little squeak, everyone else knows it’s time to go to work. But when Mr. Whittaker fixes the stairs and the door, Georgie has to go out on his own. Can he find a new purpose or will time come and lend a hand?

Georgie is a classic tale, written in 1944, of a friendly ghost who only wants to help his living friends. The art is very evocative in basic blue and white but is the perfect complement to the story.  If you want a “comfortable” ghost story for your little ones, then Georgie is a great choice.  

Read-alikes: 

  • Gilbert the Ghost by Guido Van Genechten 
  • How to Make Friends With a Ghost by Rebecca Green 
  • The Teeny Tiny Ghost by Kay Winters 
  • The Little Ghost Who Didn’t Like to be Scary by Isla Wynter 
  • Other Georgie books by Robert Bright  
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *