Tried & True and New: Picture Books

Our storytime experts are bringing you reviews of the latest from our Easy collection (or picture books) as well as some of their favorites used during storytime. We have thousands of picture books at each library, so this is just a small introduction to the collection. See all of our Tried & True and New reviews here on the blog.

Princess Hair by Sharee Miller

Reviewed by: Stephanie Tamayo

Crowns are not the only beautiful things on a princess’s head. In fact, the colorful, fun pictures in Princess Hair  showcase princesses with a variety of black hairstyles, from dreadlocks to Bantu Knots to twists.

Simple, rhyming sentences give this book a singsong and lively feel. The bright and colorful watercolor-style artwork depicts princesses partaking in a variety of activities, including baking, solving math problems, and even performing in a band. Princess Hair is a necessary book that affirms and celebrates hair diversity.  

Read-alikes:  

  • Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut by Derrick Barnes  
  • Hair Love by Matthew A. Cherry  
  • Just Like Me by Vanessa Brantley-Newton  
  • Bedtime Bonnet by Nancy Redd 

Octopants and the Missing Pirate Underpants by Suzy Senior; Illustrated by Claire Powell

Reviewed by: Erik Knapp 

Pufferfish’s pirate underpants have gone missing and his friends, Turtle and Octopants are going to help him find them.  They’ll look all over town and even in the creepy shipwreck only to discover a surprise for everyone.  The rhyming style keeps the story light and fun while the bright, colorful art make this book a joyful read.  And, there are plenty of underpants for everyone! 

Read-alikes:

  • I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean by Kevin Sherry 
  • The Pout-Pout Fish by Deborah Diesen 
  • Who Wet My Pants by Bob Shea 
  • The Three Little Fish and the Big, Bad Shark by Ken Geist 

The Path by Bob Stakke

Reviewed by: Cathy Carter 

The Path is a delightful book that expounds on the path of life. Beautifully illustrated pictures show a boy traveling along this path. This story lets the reader know that although the path of life is not always easy and can change often, it is okay to venture off onto one’s own path. 

Read-alikes:

  • Instructions: Everything You’ll Need to Know On Your Journey by Neil Gaiman 
  • I Like Me! By Nancy Carlson 
  • Zen Shorts by Jon J. Muth 
  • The Longest Storm by Dan Yaccarino 

Hamsters Make Terrible Roommates by Cheryl Klein, Illustrated by Abhi Alwar

Reviewed by: Sarah Deay 

Henry and Marvin are two very different hamsters. Marvin wants to talk and run and play and talk some more, but Henry just wants peace and quiet for goodness’ sake. They have been roommates for exactly two hundred and five days. Henry knows this because he’s been counting each excruciating day that Marvin spends doing the exact opposite of what Henry wants Marvin to do. Find out what happens on day two hundred and seven that helps Henry and Marvin become best friends! This book is both hilarious and sweet, and it shares great life lessons such as forgiveness, friendship, and how to compromise and resolve differences. Families with siblings of very different personalities might find this book quite relatable! 

Read-alikes:

  • Hudson and Tallulah Take Sides by Anna Kang 
  • Big and Little by Yang Hang 
  • Tiger and Badger by Emily Jenkins 
  • The Steves by Morag Hood 
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *