Selfie Book Talk, Episode #23

Your Plano Public Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of these titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out.

See all Book Selfies posts here.

Binti by Nnedi Okorafor

Available as: Print | eBook
Recommended by: Lauren Stotts at Davis Library
Genre: Science Fiction

Description: Lauren recommends this sci-fi novella which follows the experience of Binti as she attends the prestigious intergalactic University Oozma. When her ship is attacked by a hostile alien species, Binti must rely on the gifts of her people and her own strength to survive. Binti is the first book in a trilogy of intergalactic thrillers. Be sure to check the entire series at the library or on the Libby app.

A Psalm for the Wild Built Read-alikes:

The Black God’s Drums by P. Djèlí Clark
Available as: Print | eBook

Sorrowland by Solomon Rivers
Available as: Print | eBook

Join by Steve Toutonghi
Available as: eBook


Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger

Available as: Print | eBook
Recommended by: Abby at Davis Library
Genre: Junior Graphic Novel

Description: Abby recommends the junior graphic novel Bug Boys for adventure lovers of all ages. Its adorable and eye-catching illustrations make it a perfect read for fans of Adventure Time or Stephen Universe. There’s no telling what the best friends Rhino B and Stag B will encounter in their village, so make sure you check it out from the library to find out!

Bug Boys Read-alikes:

Adventure Time by Ryan North
Available as: Print

Pea, Bee, & Jay by Brian Smith
Available as: Print | eBook

Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea by Ben Clanton
Available as: Print


Norroway by Kit & Cat Seaton

Available as: Print | eBook
Recommended by: Ellen at Schimelpfenig Library
Genre: Young Adult Graphic Novel

Description: Norroway starts when three sisters visit the witch of the forest who can see into the future. The witch delivers a prophecy that the youngest sister, Sibylla, will marry a black bull and break the curse that cripples the land. Ellen recommends you read this graphic novel to learn the fate of Sibylla as she goes on a quest and learns the truth of the curse for herself.

A Psalm for the Wild Built Read-alikes:

This is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar
Available as: Print | eBook

Sorrowland by Solomon Rivers
Available as: Print | eBook

Join by Steve Toutonghi
Available as: eBook


A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki

Available as: Print | eBook
Recommended by: Meredith at Harrington Library
Genre: Adult Fiction

Description: In Tokyo, sixteen-year-old Nao has decided there’s only one escape from her aching loneliness and her classmates’ bullying. But before she ends it all, Nao first plans to document the life of her great grandmother, a Buddhist nun who’s lived more than a century. A diary is Nao’s only solace—and will touch lives in ways she can scarcely imagine. Across the Pacific, we meet Ruth, a novelist living on a remote island who discovers a collection of artifacts washed ashore in a Hello Kitty lunchbox—possibly debris from the devastating 2011 tsunami. As the mystery of its contents unfolds, Ruth is pulled into the past, into Nao’s drama and her unknown fate, and forward into her own future.

A Tale for the Time Being Read-alikes:

Life after Life: A Novel by Kate Atkinson
Available as: Print

The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Americanah: A Novel by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook


The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan

Available as: Print | Audiobook | eBook | eAudiobook
Recommended by: Erik at Parr Library
Genre: Science Fiction

Description: The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and pass, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.
When The Two Rivers is attacked by Trollocs (a savage tribe of half-men, half-beasts) five villagers flee that night into a world they barely imagined, with new dangers waiting in the shadows and in the light.

The Eye of the World Read-alikes:

Wizard’s First Rule (Sword of Truth series) by Terry Goodkind
Available as: Print | Playaway

Elantris (Cosmere series) by Brandon Sanderson
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

See all Book Selfies posts here.

In the third episode of the Plano Library Speaks podcast, Erik Knapp (one of our reviewers above!) talks about his work doing Selfie Book Talks. You can listen to the entire episode here, with Erik’s portion beginning at 12:14.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.