Tried & True and New: Picture Book Reviews

Our storytime experts are bringing you reviews of the latest from our Easy collection (or picture books) as well as some of their favorites used during storytime. We have thousands of picture books at each library, so this is just a small introduction to the collection. See all of our Tried & True and New reviews here on the blog.

Paletero Man by Lucky Diaz

Reviewed by: Madeleine Rodriguez, Library Services Representatives

A young boy is excited and determined to find the paletero man on a hot sunny day. He hurries through the neighborhood, seeing familiar faces along the way and dreaming of all the paleta flavors there could possibly be. Paletero Man is filled with eye-catching colorful illustrations, fun rhyming musical text, a heartfelt ending, and even a little bit of Spanish! Children can learn some basic Spanish and appreciate this unique book that highlights acts of kindness.

Read-alikes:
  • What Can You Do With a Paleta? by Carmen Tafolla
  • A Song of Frutas by Margarita Engle
  • Our Celebracion! By Susan Middleton Elya

The More the Merrier by David Martin

Reviewed by: Sharon Forinash, Librarian

The More the Merrier begins with a talented bear entering the pages to show his special dance moves. One by one, other forest animals join Bear and present their own special moves. The More the Merrier is a fun, interactive book that begs for its readers to move about. At the same time, this story carries the message that we are all unique individuals, and it is absolutely acceptable to be different from others.

Read-alikes:
  • Dancing Feet! by Lindsey Craig
  • Clap Your Hands by Lorinda Cauley
  • Everybunny Dance! by Ellie Sandall
  • If You’re Happy and You Know It! by Jane Cabrera
  • The Croaky Pokey! by Ethan Long

Llama Llama Meets the Babysitter by Anna Dewdney

Reviewed by: Sharon Forinash, Librarian

Llama Llama is a little worried because a babysitter is coming to stay with him. Gram usually watches Llama Llama when Mama Llama has to leave the house, but Gram is not available this time. What will this new babysitter be like, and how will the evening go? As she always does, Anna Dewdney approaches this tender subject with great care and consideration. Llama Llama Meets the Babysitter is written with rhyming text and colorful illustrations that children will like.

Read-alikes:
  • How to Babysit a Grandpa by Jean Reagan
  • Five Little Monkeys Play Hide-and-Seek by Eileen Christelow
  • The Berenstain Bears and the Sitter by Stan & Jan Berenstain
  • No Babysitters Allowed by Amber Stewart
  • Good Dog, Carl by Alexandra Day

The Longest Storm by Dan Yaccarino

Reviewed by: Erik Knapp, Librarian

The Longest Storm is a picturebook metaphor for what we have all been going through. It tells the story of a families’ fracturing and coming together during one of their worst times.  This book is poignant, timely and just flat-out beautiful.  I cannot imagine a better picture book (or any book for that matter) to help explain our difficult times to young children. Yaccarino’s simple but empathic art are the perfect companion to his words. This book is a soon-to-be classic.

Read-alikes:
  • There’s a Big Beautiful World Out There by Nancy Carlson (written the day after 9/11)
  • The Little Brute Family by Russell Hoban
  • Whoever You Are by Mem Fox
  • Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Pena
  • The Lorax by Dr. Seuss

See all of our Tried & True and New reviews here on the blog.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.