Plano Reads: Selfie Book Talk, Episode #19

Your Plano Public Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of these titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out.

See all Book Selfies posts here.


Big friendship: How We Keep Each Other Close by Aminatou Sow and Ann Friedman

Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook
Recommended by: Amanda at Haggard Library
Genre: Fiction

Description: A close friendship is one of the most influential and important relationships a human life can contain, but most people don’t talk about what it really takes to stay close for the long haul. Sow and Friedman chronicle their first decade in one another’s lives. Through frank and intimate conversations, they discuss the joys and pitfalls they’ve faced.

Big friendship: How We Keep Each Other Close Read-alikes:

Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

You’re the Only One I Can Tell by Deborah Tannen
Available as: Print

Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook


The Anthropocene Reviewed by John Green

Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook
Recommended by: Cathe at Schimelpfenig Library
Genre: Non-Fiction

Description: The Anthropocene is the current geological age, in which human activity has profoundly shaped the planet and its biodiversity. In this remarkable symphony of essays adapted and expanded from his groundbreaking podcast, John Green reviews different facets of the human-centered planet-from the QWERTY keyboard and Staphylococcus aureus to the Taco Bell breakfast menu-on a five-star scale.

The Anthropocene Reviewed Read-alikes:

What Are We Doing Here?: Essays by Marilynne Robinson
Available as: Print

The Meaning of Human Existence by Edward O. Wilson
Available as: Print

Under a White Sky by Elizabeth Kolbert
Available as: Print | eBook


Beyond the Black Door by A.M. Strickland

Available as: Print
Recommended by: Tenille at Haggard Library
Genre: Fantasy

Description: Everyone has a soul. Some are beautiful gardens, others are frightening dungeons. Soulwalkers–like Kamai and her mother–can journey into other people’s souls while they sleep. But no matter where Kamai visits, she sees the black door.

Beyond the Black Door Read-alikes:

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudioBook

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook


Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas

Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook
Recommended by: Meredith at Haggard Library
Genre: Fantasy

Description: International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood.

Beyond the Black Door Read-alikes:

Solo by Kwame Alexander
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudioBook

Dear Justyce by Nic Stone
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Tyler Johnson Was Here by Jay Coles
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook


The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter by Theodora Goss

Available as: Print | eBook
Recommended by: Erik at Parr Library
Genre: Mystery

Description: Based on some of literature’s horror and science fiction classics, this is the story of a remarkable group of women who come together to solve the mystery of a series of gruesome murders–and the bigger mystery of their own origins.

The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter Read-alikes:

The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley
Available as: Print | eBook

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

A Study in Brimstone by G.S. Denning
Available as: Print | eBook


See all Book Selfies posts here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.