Plano Reads: Selfie Book Talk, Episode #18

Your Plano Public Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of these titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out.

See all Book Selfies posts here.


The Big Over Easy: A Nursery Crime by Jasper Fforde

Available as: Print
Recommended by: Erik K. at Parr Library
Genre: Mystery

Description: Unconvinced that a former convict and millionaire philanthropist has been murdered by his suicide-victim ex-wife, detective inspector Jack Spratt and his assistant, Mary Mary, uncover a plot involving money laundering and asylum-seeking titans.

The Big Over Easy Read-alikes:

Gretel and the Case of the Missing Frog Prints: a Brothers Grimm Mystery by Paula Brackston
Available as: Print | eAudiobook

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams
Available as: Print | eBook


Charlie & Mouse series by Laurel Snyder, illustrated by Emily Hughes

Available as: Print | eBook
Recommended by: Andrea C. at Haggard Library
Genre: Junior Fiction/Early Reader

Description: Brothers Charlie & Mouse spend the day together, taking part in simple childhood pastimes: a neighborhood party, a money-making plan, a bedtime snack.

Charlie & Mouse Read-alikes:

Iris and Walter series by Elissa Haden Guest, available as: Print

Ivy + Bean series by Annie Barrows, available as: Print | eBook |eAudiobook

Ling & Ting series by Grace Lin, available as: Print


The Stonewall Reader, edited by The New York Public Library

Available as: Print | eAudiobook
Recommended by: Stephanie T. at Davis Library
Genre: Adult Nonfiction

Description: Published in 2019 to mark the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall uprising, this anthology chronicles the tumultuous fight for LGBTQ rights in the 1960s and the activists who spearheaded it.

The Stonewall Reader Read-alikes:

Pride: The LGBTQ+ Rights Movement: A Photographic Journey by Christopher Measom, available as: Print

Love and Resistance: Out of the Closet into the Stonewall Era, edited by Jason Baumann, available as: Print

The Book of Pride: LGBTQ Heroes Who Changed the World by Mason Funk, available as: Print |eBook


The Wicked + The Divine series by Kieron Gillen, illustrated by Jamie McKelvie

Available in: Print
Recommended by: Sarah O. at Haggard Library
Genre: Adult Graphic Novel

Description: Every ninety years, twelve gods are incarnated as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. Welcome to The Wicked + The Divine, where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because you’re immortal, doesn’t mean you’re going to live forever.

The Wicked + The Divine Read-alikes:

American Gods series by Neil Gaiman, available as: Print

Monstress series by Marjorie Liu, available as: Print |eBook

Something is Killing the Children series by James Tynion IV, available as: Print


Anne of Green Gables: A Graphic Novel by L. M. Montgomery, adapted by Mariah Marsden, illustrated by Brenna Thummler

Available as: Print
Recommended by: Abby M. at Davis Library
Genre: Young Adult Graphic Novel

Description: When Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert decide to adopt an orphan who can help manage their family farm, they have no idea what delightful trouble awaits them. With flame-red hair and an unstoppable imagination, 11-year-old Anne Shirley takes Green Gables by storm. 

Anne of Green Gables: A Graphic Novel Read-alikes:

A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel by Madeleine L’Engle, illustrated and adapted by Hope Larson, available as: Print | eBook

Anna Sewell’s Black Beauty: The Graphic Novel adapted by June Brigman and Roy Richardson, available as: Print

The Hobbit: An Illustrated Edition of the Fantasy Classic by J.R.R. Tolkien, adapted by Charles Dixon, illustrated by David Wenzel, available as: Print


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.