Plano Reads: Selfie Book Talk, Episode #16

Your Plano Library Staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out on Overdrive and the Libby App.

See all Book Selfies posts here.


Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks

Recommended by: Amanda at Haggard Library; Print

Genre: Adult Fiction

Description from Novelist: “Eighteen-year-old Anna Frith tells the story of her remote English village, Eyam, which was infected by the plague in 1666 and where, persuaded by their vicar, the townspeople decided to quarantine themselves.”

Read-Alikes:


Featured Author: Jeramey Kraatz

Recommended by: Sarah at Haggard Library; Author

Genre: Junior Fiction

Series:

Read-Alikes:


Zhu Jue (主角) by Yan Chen

Recommended by: Amy C. at Davis Library, Print

Genre: Chinese Adult Fiction

Read-Alikes:


The Naming by Alison Croggon

Recommended by: Amy B. at Haggard Library; Print

Genre: Teen Fiction

Description from Novelist: “A manuscript from the lost civilization of Edil-Amarandah chronicles the experiences of sixteen-year-old Maerad, an orphan gifted in the magic and power of the Bards, as she escapes from slavery and begins to learn how to use her Gift to stave off the evil Darkness that threatens to consume her world.”

Read-Alikes:


Shapes trilogy by Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen

Recommended by: Andrea at Haggard Library

Genre: Children’s Picture Book

Books in Series:

Read-Alikes:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.