Selfie Book Talk, Episode 27

Your Plano Public Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of these titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out.

See all Selfie Book Talk posts here.



Author Victoria (V.E.) Schwab

Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Meredith D. at Harrington Library

Genre: Adult, Young Adult and Juvenile Fiction/Science Fiction/Fantasy

Description from Novelist: Victoria Schwab (also published under the name V.E. Schwab) writes popular and wide-ranging speculative fiction for adults, teens, and older kids. Whether she’s writing about magicians, monsters, superheroes, or ghosts, Schwab creates immersive world-building, multifaceted characters, and gripping, suspenseful plots.

Selected Titles:

A Darker Shade of Magic (Adult), available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook

This Savage Song (Young Adult), available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook | Playaway

City of Ghosts (Juvenile), available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook | Playaway

Victoria (V.E.) Schwab Read-alikes:

Leigh Bardugo
Holly Black
Lynette Noni


The Pros of Cons by Alison Cherry, Lindsay Ribar and Michelle Schusterman

Available as: Print

Recommended by: Ellen S. at Schimelpfenig Library

Genre: Young Adult

Description: Three girls become fast friends when brought together by a random mix-up in the lobby of a hotel playing host to three separate conventions.

The Pros of Cons Read-alikes:

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde, available as Print

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook | CDBook | Spanish

Kate in Waiting by Becky Albertalli, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook


Life in the Garden by Penelope Lively

Available as: Print | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Amanda M. at Haggard Library

Genre: Memoir

Description: Booker Prize winner and national bestselling author Penelope Lively takes up her key themes of time and memory, and her lifelong passions for art, literature, and gardening in this philosophical and poetic memoir.

Life in the Garden Read-alikes:

A Life of My Own by Claire Tomalin, available as eBook

Vesper Flights by Helen Macdonald, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook | Playaway

The Art of the Wasted Day by Patricia Hampl, available as Print | eAudiobook


Milo Imagines the World by Matt de la Peña, illustrated by Christian Robinson

Available as: Print | Spanish

Recommended by: Andrea C. at Haggard Library

Genre: Children’s picture book

Description from Novelist: While Milo and his sister travel to a detention center to visit their incarcerated mother, he observes strangers on the subway and draws what he imagines their lives to be.

Milo Imagines the World Read-alikes:

Windows by Julia Denos, illustrated by E. B. Goodale, available as Print | Spanish

A House that Once was by Julie Fogliano, illustrated by Lane Smith, available as Print

My Pen by Christopher Myers, available as Print


Showtime: Magic, Kareem, Riley, and The Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty of the 1980s by Jeff Pearlman

Available as: Print

Recommended by: Erik K. at Parr Library     

Genre: Nonfiction

Description: Former Sports Illustrated senior writer Jeff Pearlman presents the complete, no-holds-barred story of the remarkable individuals who came together to form pro basketball’s most legendary dynasty.

Showtime Read-alikes:

Three-Ring Circus: Kobe, Shaq, Phil, and the Crazy Years of the Lakers Dynasty by Jeff Pearlman, available as Print | eAudiobook

When the Game Was Ours, by Larry Bird and Earvin Johnson, available as Print

The Book of Basketball: The NBA according to The Sports Guy by Bill Simmons, available as Print | eBook

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.