Selfie Book Talk, Episode #26

Your Plano Public Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of these titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out.

See all Book Selfies posts here.



Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Amy B. at Parr Library

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Description from Novelist: :  On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a magical skill that sets them apart from others. Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie; Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind the lives around her. Safi and Iseult want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands.

Truthwitch Read-alikes:

Everless by Sara Holland, available as Print | eBook| eAudiobook

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, available as Print | eBook | CD Book


Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir

Available as: Print | eBook | Large Print | Playaway

Recommended by: Meredith D. at Harrington Library

Genre: Science Fiction

Description from Novelist:  Ryland Grace is the sole survivor on a desperate, last-chance mission–and if he fails, humanity and the earth itself will perish. Except that right now, he can’t even remember his own name, let alone the nature of his assignment or how to complete it. Alone on a tiny ship, it’s up to him to conquer an extinction-level threat to our species. And thanks to an unexpected ally, he just might have a chance.

Project Hail Mary Read-alikes:

The Last Astronaut by David Wellington, available as Print

Velocity Weapon by Megan E. O’Keefe, available as Print | eBook

Uranus by Ben Bova, available as Print


Junior Bender series by Timothy Hallinan

Available as: Print | eBook

Recommended by: Erik K. at Parr Library

Genre: Mystery

Description from Novelist:  The Junior Bender mysteries are caper novels starring a charming, likable former burglar working as a private detective. A cheerful, light tone compliments the intricate plotting and wisecracking dialogue while honor among thieves generally prevails. Sometimes Bender trades witty banter for quiet reflection or occasional melancholy as he investigates some very nasty crimes.

Junior Bender Read-alikes:

Bernie Rhodenbarr series by Lawrence Block, available as Print | eAudiobook

Dortmunder series by Donald Westlake, available as Print | Large Print

Dek Elstrom series by Jack Fredrickson, available as Print


Taproot: A Story about a Gardener and a Ghost by Keezy Young

Available as: eBook

Recommended by: Ellen S. at Schimelpfenig Library

Genre: Young Adult Graphic Novel

Description from Novelist: Blue is having a hard time moving on. He’s in love with his best friend. He’s also dead. Luckily, Hamal can see ghosts, leaving Blue free to haunt him to his heart’s content. But something eerie is happening in town, leaving the local afterlife unsettled, and when Blue realizes Hamal’s strange ability may be putting him in danger, Blue has to find a way to protect him, even if it means…leaving him.

Taproot Read-alikes:

City Monster by Reza Farazmand, available as Print

Archival Quality by Ivy Noelle Weir, available as Print

Hellboy: Into the Silent Sea by, available as Print


Nubia: Real One by L. L. McKinney, with art by Robyn Smith

Available as: Print

Recommended by: Stephanie T. at Davis Library  

Genre: Young Adult Graphic Novel

Description from Novelist: Nubia has always stood out because of her Amazonian strength, but even though she uses her ability for good, she is seen as a threat. When her best friend Quisha is threatened by a boy who thinks he owns the town, Nubia risks everything to become the hero society tells her she is not.

Nubia: Real One Read-alikes:

Gotham High by Melissa De la Cruz, available as Print

Miles Morales by Jason Reynolds, available as Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Dreadnought by April Daniels, available as Print | eBook

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.