Selfie Book Talk, Episode #25

Your Plano Public Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of these titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out.

See all Book Selfies posts here.



The Magic Fish by Trung Le Nguyen

Available as: Print | eBook

Recommended by: Stephanie T. at Davis Library

Genre: Young Adult Graphic Novel

Description from Novelist: Real life isn’t a fairytale. But Tiến still enjoys reading his favorite stories with his parents from the books he borrows from the local library. It’s hard enough trying to communicate with your parents as a kid, but for Tiến, he doesn’t even have the right words because his parents are struggling with their English. Is there a Vietnamese word for what he’s going through?

The Magic Fish Read-alikes:

Like a Love Story by Abdi Nazemian, available as Print | eBook

Flamer by Mike Curato, available as Print

Our Dreams at Dusk (series) by Yuhki Kamatani, available as Print


Author Kurt Vonnegut

Recommended by: Abby M.

Genre: Fiction

Description from Novelist:  Kurt Vonnegut’s literary fiction often employs science fiction conventions to support his own satiric, anti-scientific, humanist ends: promoting the practice of simple human kindness and decency in spite of mankind’s foolish, self-destructive tendencies. Unpredictable, even extreme, characters; nonlinear plots; and settings designed for effect complete the thought-provoking and enjoyable effects of story and style.

Selected Titles:

Cat’s Cradle, available as Print | eBook

Slaughterhouse-Five, available as Print | eBook | CD Book

Breakfast of Champions, available as Print

Kurt Vonnegut Read-alikes:

Douglas Adams

Philip K. Dick

Christopher Moore


The Fall of Hyperion by Dan Simmons

Available as: eBook

Recommended by: Bob L. at Library Outreach & Engagement

Genre: Science Fiction

Description from Novelist: In this sequel to Hyperion, seven pilgrims continue their fateful mission to a planet that may be humankind’s only hope in a galaxy threatened by an all-encompassing war.

The Fall of Hyperion Read-alikes:

Salvation by Peter F. Hamilton, available as Print | eBook

Senlin Ascends by Josiah Bancroft, available as Print | eBook

Transcendental by James Gunn, available as eBook


The Album of Dr. Moreau by Daryl Gregory

Available as: Print | eBook

Recommended by: Erik K. at Parr Library

Genre: Science Fiction

Description from Novelist: It’s 2001, and the WyldBoyZ are the world’s hottest boy band, and definitely the world’s only genetically engineered human-animal hybrid vocal group. When their producer, Dr. M, is found murdered in his hotel room, the “boyz” become the prime suspects.

The Album of Dr. Moreau Read-alikes:

We Sold Our Souls by Grady Hendrix, available as Print

The Big Sheep by Robert Kroese, available as Print | CD Book

The Punch Escrow by Tal M. Klein, available as Print


Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Jon Klassen

Available as: Print

Recommended by: Caitlyn T. at Harrington Library             

Genre: Children’s picture book

Description from Novelist: With a supply of yarn that never runs out, Annabelle knits for everyone and everything in town until an evil archduke decides he wants the yarn for himself.

Extra Yarn Read-alikes:

A Visitor for Bear by Bonny Becker, available as Print | eBook

A Piece of Chalk by Jennifer A. Ericsson, available as Print

Knitty Kitty by David Elliott, available as Print

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.