Selfie Book Talk, Episode #22

Your Plano Public Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of these titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out.

See all Book Selfies posts here.


A Psalm for the Wild Built by Becky Chambers

Available as: Print | eBook
Recommended by: Stephanie Ta. at Davis Library
Genre: Science Fiction

Description: Stephanie recommends this sci-fi novella which follows the career and adventures of a non-binary “tea monk” named Dex. Centuries after robots gained sentience and abandoned civilization, Dex is the first person to befriend a robot and learn about their culture. If you enjoy back and forth philosophical conversations similar to classics like Plato’s Symposium, Stephanie recommends you check out A Psalm for the Wild-Built on your next trip to Plano Library.

A Psalm for the Wild Built Read-alikes:

This is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar
Available as: Print | eBook

Sorrowland by Solomon Rivers
Available as: Print | eBook

Join by Steve Toutonghi
Available as: eBook


The Tree That Time Built by Mary Ann Hoberman

Available as: Print
Recommended by: Amanda at Haggard Library
Genre: Children’s Poetry

Description: Amanda recommends you read this beautiful collection of poetry to inspire your child’s love for the natural world. Read poems from a variety of writes such as Robert Frost, Jack Poleski, and Walt Whitman. This book connects science and nature with the human imagination and is a joyful family read.

The Tree That Time Built Read-alikes:

The Great Kapok Tree by Lynne Cherry
Available as: Print

The Dirt Book: Poems About Animals That Live Beneath Our Feet by David L. Harrison
Available as: Print

Planting a Rainbow by Lois Ehlert
Available as: Print


Gustavo the Shy Ghost by Flavia Z. Drago

Available as: Print
Recommended by: Andrea at Haggard Library
Genre: Children’s Holiday

Description: Andrea is excited to tell you about one of her newest favorite books, Gustavo the Shy Ghost! Gustavo is struggling with feeling misunderstood and unnoticed by others and has to find the courage to make new friends. The relatable story of Gustavo and the vibrant artwork which reflects the author’s hometown of Mexico City make this children’s book a very fun read that Andrea recommends to everyone.

Gustavo the Shy Ghost Read-alikes:

Oscar Seeks a Friend by Pawel Pawlak
Available as: Print

The Teeny Tiny Ghost by Kay Winters
Available as: Print

Boo Who? by Ben Clanton
Available as: Print


An Elderly Lady is Up to No Good by Helene Tursten

Available as: Print | eBook
Recommended by: Tenille at Haggard Library
Genre: Adult Mystery

Description: Tenille loves Helene Tursten’s brilliant combination of mystery and comedy in this short story collection. She encourages adult readers to check it out and find out all of the unpredictable mischief that a little old lady gets up to in her free time.

An Elderly Lady is Up to No Good Read-alikes:

American Housewife by Hellen Ellis
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Thursday Murder Club by Rihcard Osman
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Dark Lies the Island by Kevin Barry
Available as: Print


The Nocturnal Brain: Nightmares, Neuroscience, and the Secret World of Sleep by Guy Leschziner

Available as: Print
Recommended by: Nikki at Harrington Library
Genre: Non-Fiction

Description: Nikki loves to read neuroscience and psychology books that explain the way the brain works. Her latest read provides research about all sorts of sleep disorders from narcolepsy to something called “Sleeping Beauty Syndrome.” It’s a very easy read that allows reader to skip around and find the information they are looking for. Nikki recommends you pick it up as your next non-fiction book at PPL!

The Nocturnal Brain: Nightmares, Neuroscience, and the Secret World of Sleep Read-alikes:

Hallucinations by Oliver Sax
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Why We Sleep : Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams by Matthew P Walker
Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

When Brains Dream: Exploring the Science and Mystery of Sleep by Antonio Zadra
Available as: Print

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.