Tried & True and New: Picture Book Reviews

Our storytime experts are bringing you reviews of the latest from our Easy collection (or picture books) as well as some of their favorites used during storytime. We have thousands of picture books at each library, so this is just a small introduction to the collection. See all of our Tried & True and New reviews here on the blog.


When a Dragon Goes to School by Caryl Hart

Reviewed by: Jaime Eastman, Librarian

Little Dragon is off to school, but does she know how to behave once she’s there? This story follows a little dragon through a series of daily activities, from greeting her friends to sharing a snack to playing together on the playground. Through familiar scenarios and a series of questions, children are reminded of how to use their manners. Adorable illustrations and rhyming text keep the story engaging and fun.

Read-alikes:
  • How Do Dinosaurs series by Jane Yolen
  • Tea Rex by Molly Idle
  • When a Dragon Comes to Stay by Caryl Hart
  • Rude Cakes by Rowboat Wilson
  • Please Mr. Panda by Steve Antony

Dumplings for Lili by Melissa Iwai

Reviewed by: Parisa Nasirapour, Library Services Representative

Lili loves to cook baos with Nai Nai, but they can’t make it without cabbage! Lili sets out on an errand run, borrowing ingredients from the other grandmothers in their apartment building and helping everyone build their own dumplings. With vibrant illustrations and a sweet story about friendship, Dumplings for Lili teaches children about the importance of sharing and appreciating other cultures.

Read-alikes:
  • Amy Wu and the PerfectBao by Kat Zhang
  • Every Night Is Pizza Night by J. Kenji López-Alt
  • Hot Pot Night! by Vincent Chen
  • Our Little Kitchen by Jillian Tamaki

Who Wet My Pants by Bob Shea

Reviewed by: Erik Knapp, Librarian

Somehow, Rueben’s pants got wet and the culprit could only be someone from his Scout troop. Who wet Reuben’s pants and will they fess up in time for donuts? Who Wet My Pants is a silly, but hilarious story about accountability and knowing that it’s okay to make mistakes. It’s perfect for kids who might be having an issue with potty training or just anyone who might need a good laugh. The art, by Zachariah OHora, is also excellent.

Read-alikes:
  • Those are Not My Underpants by Melissa Martin
  • Stop Snoring, Bernard by Zachariah OHora
  • Potty Training Theme Backpack
  • Goldilocks and the Just Right Potty by Leigh Hodgkinson

Toasty by Sarah Hwang

Reviewed by: Madeleine Rodriguez, Library Services Representatives

Toasty is a piece of bread who loves dogs so much, he wants to be one! Toasty is Hwang’s first picture book with a simple and easy to follow along story. Filled with adorable illustrations, funny moments and a surprising but happy ending, this is one book kids and even parents will love!

Read-alikes:
  • Can I Be Your Dog? by Troy Cummings
  • Atticus Caticus by Sarah Maizes
  • Pug meets Pig by Sue Lowell Gallion

A Neighborhood Walk, A Musical Journey by Pilar Winter Hill

Reviewed by: Madeleine Rodriguez, Library Services Representatives

Penelope is excited to go to the Farmer’s Market with her mother. Along the way, she encounters different sounds and music that grab her attention but one instrument inspires her deeply. Hill’s only book, this interactive and fun pick is filled with beautiful pictures and colors, which is a great choice for music lovers!

Read-alikes:
  • I Got the Rhythm by Connie Schofield-Morrison
  • Boogie, Boogie Ya’ll by Charles George Esperanza
  • Rock ‘N’ Roll Soul by Susan Verde

See all of our Tried & True and New reviews here on the blog.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *