Plano Reads: Selfie Book Talk, Episode #21

Your Plano Public Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Continue reading for a list of these titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out.

See all Book Selfies posts here.

Daisy Jones & the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Available as: Print | Large Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Sarah O. at Haggard Library

Genre: Fiction

Description: A gripping novel about the whirlwind rise of an iconic 1970s rock group and their beautiful lead singer, revealing the mystery behind their infamous breakup.

Daisy Jones & the Six Read-alikes:

Utopia Avenue by David Mitchell, available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Mary Jane by Jessica Anya Blau, available as: Print | eBook

Modern Lovers by Emma Straub, available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook | Playaway | CD Book


Pssst! by Adam Rex

Available as: Print

Recommended by: Erik K. at Parr Library

Genre: Juvenile fiction

Description: The animals at the zoo have some unusual requests for a little girl who goes to visit.

Pssst! Read-alikes:

Where’s Walrus? by Stephen Savage, available as: Print

I am Not a Chair by Ross Burach, available as: Print

This Book Just Ate My Dog! by Richard Byrne, available as: Print


Author Tillie Walden

Available as: Print | eBook

Recommended by: Abby M. at Davis Library

Genre: Young adult graphic novel

Description: Tillie Walden writes graphic novels featuring characters coming of age in settings both realistic and speculative, featuring themes of identity and family.

Tillie Walden Read-alikes:

Gabby Rivera

MariNaomi

Derek Kirk Kim


Interior Chinatown by Charles Yu

Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Stephanie T. at Davis Library

Genre: Fiction

Description: Willis Wu doesn’t perceive himself as the protagonist in his own life: he’s merely Generic Asian Man. Sometimes he gets to be Background Oriental Making a Weird Face or even Disgraced Son, but always he is relegated to a prop. Yet every day, he leaves his tiny room in a Chinatown SRO and enters the Golden Palace restaurant, where he’s a bit player in a procedural cop show.

Interior Chinatown Read-alikes:

The Majesties by Tiffany Tsao, available as: Print

If You See Me, Don’t Say Hi by Neel Patel, available as: Print | eBook  

Homeland Elegies by Ayad Akhtar, available as: Print | eBook | Spanish edition


Conventionally Yours by Annabeth Albert

Available as: Print | eBook

Recommended by: Ellen S. at Schimelpfenig Library          

Genre: Fiction

Description: When mortal enemies are stuck together on a cross-country road trip to the biggest fan convention of their lives, their infamous rivalry takes a backseat as an unexpected connection is forged.

Conventionally Yours Read-alikes:

Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston, available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall, available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

The Charm Offensive by Alison Cochrun, available as: Print | eBook

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.