Tried & True and New: Picture Book Reviews

Our storytime experts are bringing you reviews of the latest from our Easy collection (or picture books) as well as some of their favorites used during storytime. We have thousands of picture books at each library, so this is just a small introduction to the collection.

Reviews in this post are brought to you by Erik, a librarian at Parr Library.

Bear Can’t Wait by Karma Wilson Print

Bear is throwing a surprise party for his friend but he’s too excited and the day is just beginning.  Bear Can’t Wait follows the same formula as Wilson’s other Bear books with the same enjoyable results. With fun characters, appealing art and an easy and engaging rhyme scheme, Bear Can’t Wait will be a storytime favorite you and your kids won’t be able to put down.

Read-alikes: 

  • Any of the other Bear books by Karma Wilson
  • Big Smelly Bear by Britta Teckentrup
  • The Very Cranky Bear by Nick Bland
  • Old Bear by Kevin Henkes

The Froggies Do Not Want to Sleep by Adam Gustavson Print

Whether it’s firing themselves from cannons, practicing their accordions or having burping contests these frogs simply DO NOT want to sleep. This hilarious book relies heavily on its art describing the frog’s outlandish antics and the art is fantastic and fun. The bug-eyed, long-legged frogs are strangely adorable and ooze mischief until they finally settle down. If your kids love frogs (and fun!) this will quickly become a storytime favorite.

Read-alikes:

  • The Froggy books by Jonathan London
  • Jump Frog Jump by Robert Kalan
  • The Wide-Mouthed Frog by Keith Faulkner

Milo’s Hat Trick by Jon Agee Print | DVD

Milo’s Hat Trick has been a storytime favorite for years. It tells the story of Milo, a failing magician, who gets some magic help from a bear.  It’s a fun tale with a couple of unexpected twists and Agee’s simple art compliments the story perfectly.  This story, along with Agee’s other picturebooks, are great for older preschoolers who are ready for more complex stories and characters but they remain accessible to all ages.  Agee is also popular for his books featuring palindromes.

Read-alikes:

  • Other books by Jon Agee (including his palindrome material)
  • The Magic Hat by Mem Fox
  • Ask Mr. Bear by Marjorie Flack
  • Tornado Slim and the Magic Cowboy Hat by Bryan Langdo
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *