Plano Reads: Selfie Book Talk, Episode #20

Your Plano Public Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Continuing reading for a list of these titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out.

See all Book Selfies posts here.

House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig

Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Amy B. at Haggard Library

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Description: A gothic retelling of the fairytale The Twelve Dancing Princesses, featuring a chilling mystery set by the sea.

House of Salt and Sorrows Read-alikes:

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones, available as: Print | eBook

The Waking Forest by Alyssa Wees, available as: Print

Strange Grace by Tessa Gratton, available as: Print | Playaway


Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi

Available as: Print | eBook  | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Stephanie T. at Davis Library

Genre: Fiction

Description: A deeply moving portrait of a family of Ghanaian immigrants in Alabama ravaged by depression and addiction and grief—a novel about faith, science, religion, love.

Transcendent Kingdom Read-alikes

Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue, available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook | CD Book

The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing by Mira Jacob, available as: Print | eBook

Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett, available as: Print | eBook


Deacon King Kong by James McBride

Available as: Print | Large Print |eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Abby M. at Davis Library

Genre: Fiction

Description: The story of a group of people affected by a shooting in a Brooklyn housing project in 1969. As the story deepens, it becomes clear that the lives of the characters—caught in the tumultuous swirl of 1960s New York—overlap in unexpected ways.

Deacon King Kong Read-alikes:

Harlem Shuffle by Colson Whitehead, available as: Print  | eBook | eAudiobook

Stateway’s Garden by Jasmon Drain, available as: Print

Black Bottom Saints by Alice Randall, available as: Print | eBook


Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage

Available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Recommended by: Amanda M. at Haggard Library

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Description: This 7-part series features the funny and fantastic adventures of a wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard.

Septimus Heap Read-alikes

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, available as: Print | Large Print | eBook | eAudiobook | CD Book | Playaway

Five Kingdoms series by Brandon Mull, available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook | CD Book

Potion Masters series by Frank Cole, available as: Print | eAudiobook


Hyperion by Dan Simmons

Available as: eBook

Recommended by: Bob L. at Haggard Library        

Genre: Science Fiction

Description: On the eve of Armageddon, with the entire galaxy at war, seven pilgrims set forth on a final voyage to Hyperion seeking the answers to the unsolved riddles of their lives. Each carries a desperate hope—and a terrible secret. And one may hold the fate of humanity in his hands.

Hyperion Read-alikes:

Transcendental by James Gunn, available as: Print | eBook

Dune by Frank Herbert, available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Planetfall by Emma Newman, available as: Print |eBook


See all Book Selfies posts here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.