Plano Reads: Selfie Book Talk, Episode #17

Your Plano Library staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out on Overdrive and the Libby App.

See all Book Selfies posts here.

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia

Recommended by: Amanda at Haggard Library; Print, eBook

Genre: Teen Fiction

Description from Novelist: “A society wife-in-training has an uncomfortable awakening about her strictly polarized society after being recruited into a band of rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.”

Read-Alikes:


Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Recommended by: Ellen at Schimelpfenig Library; Print, eBook

Genre: Teen Fiction

Description from Novelist: “A devoted fan of a classic sci-fi television series risks the ire of her evil stepsisters by entering a contest to win an invitation to a ball where she would meet her favorite actor, a teen star who would prove he is more than just a dumb heartthrob.”

Read-Alikes:


The Midnight Bargain by C. L. Polk

Recommended by: Amy at Haggard Library; Print, eBook

Genre: Adult Fantasy

Description from Novelist: “A romantic fantasy set in a magical Regency England. A sorceress with the ambition to become the world’s first great sorceress is bound by familial duty to be married off.”

Read-Alikes:


Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughan

Recommended by: Stephanie at Davis Library; Print

Genre: Teen Graphic Novel

Description from Novelist: “Supernatural mysteries and suburban drama collide in the early hours after the Halloween of 1988 for four twelve-year-old newspaper delivery girls.”

Read-Alikes:


From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess by Meg Cabot

Recommended by: Lauren at Davis Library; Print, eBook

Genre: Junior Fiction

Description from Novelist: “A middle-grade spinoff of The Princess Diaries, about the long-lost sister of Mia Thermopolis, Princess of Genovia.”

Read-Alikes:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *