Plano Reads: Book Selfies, Episode 15

Your Plano Library Staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out on Overdrive and the Libby App.

See all Book Selfies posts here.


Author Kurt Vonnegut

Recommended by: Erik at Davis Library, available in multiple formats

Genre: Adult science fiction

Description from Novelist: “Kurt Vonnegut’s bemused stoicism helps us enjoy the cosmic joke underlying even the worst excesses and follies of humankind. His literary fiction often employs science fiction conventions to support his own satiric, anti-scientific, humanist ends: promoting the practice of simple human kindness and decency in spite of mankind’s foolish, self-destructive tendencies.”

Read-Alikes:


Ahsoka by E. K. Johnston

Recommended by: Lauren at Davis Library, available: eBook | eAudiobook | Print

Genre: Young adult science fiction

Description from Novelist: “Follows the adventures of Ahsoka Tano after she leaves the Jedi Order to forge her own path.”

Read-Alikes:


2021 – 2022 2×2 Award Books

Recommended by: Andrea at Haggard Library

Description: Recommended books for children age two to grade two to encourage voluntary reading; a Children’s Round Table (CRT) project as part of the Texas Library Association.

Current list on the Texas Library Association website.


The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Recommended by: Meredith at Harrington Library, first in series available as: Print | Playaway | eBook | eAudiobook

Genre: Young adult science fiction / fantasy fiction

Description from Novelist: “This science fiction/fantasy mash-up — set on a plague-ravaged future Earth — retells the stories of four oppressed, but empowered, fairy tale heroines. New characters are woven into each book creating a separate but layered story connected to Cinder, a cyborg version of Cinderella. The stakes are high as each heroine fights for a happy, and romantic, ever after.”

Read-Alikes:


Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Recommended by: Stephanie at Davis Library, available as: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

Genre: Adult science fiction

Description from Novelist: “A totalitarian regime has ordered all books to be destroyed, but one of the book burners, Guy Montag, suddenly realizes their merit.”

Read-Alikes:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *