Plano Reads: Book Selfies, Episode 14

Your Plano Library Staff are virtually recommending their favorite reads.

Below is the list of titles, with additional read-alikes you can check out on Overdrive and the Libby App.

See all Book Selfies posts here.


Sparkers by Eleanor Glewwe

Recommended by: Amanda at Haggard Library, available as a Book and Audiobook

Genre: Junior fantasy fiction

Description from Novelist: “Marah, an underclass ‘sparker’ in a society ruled by magicians, works with her friend Azariah to find a cure for a mysterious disease that turns its victims’ eyes black.”

Read-Alikes:


Cinderella is Dead by Kalynn Bayron

Recommended by: Ellen at Schmelpfenig Library, available as a Book and eBook

Genre: Teen fantasy fiction

Description from Novelist: “It’s 200 years since Cinderella found her prince, but the fairytale is over. Sophia knows the story though, off by heart. Because every girl has to recite it daily, from when she’s tiny until the night she’s sent to the royal ball for choosing. And every girl knows that she has only one chance. For the lives of those not chosen by a man at the ball are forfeit. But Sophia doesn’t want to be chosen — she’s in love with her best friend, Erin, and hates the idea of being traded like cattle. And when Sophia’s night at the ball goes horribly wrong, she must run for her life. Alone and terrified, she finds herself hiding in Cinderella’s tomb. And there she meets someone who will show her that she has the power to remake her world.”

Read-Alikes:


Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo

Recommended by: Amy at Haggard Library, available as a Book and eBook

Genre: Fantasy fiction

Description from Novelist: “Surviving a horrific multiple homicide, a girl from the wrong side of the tracks is unexpectedly offered a full scholarship to Yale, where her mysterious benefactors task her with monitoring the university’s secret societies.”

Read-Alikes:


Big Wonderful Thing by Stephen Harrigan

Recommended by: Cathe at Schimelpfenig Library, available as a Book and eBook

Genre: Nonfiction – History

Description by Publisher: “The story of Texas is the story of struggle and triumph in a land of extremes. It is a story of drought and flood, invasion and war, boom and bust, and the myriad peoples who, over centuries of conflict, gave rise to a place that has helped shape the identity of the United States and the destiny of the world.”

Read-Alikes:


The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix

Recommended by: Tenille at Haggard Library, available as a Book and eBook

Genre: Horror

Description from Novelist: “A supernatural thriller set in South Carolina in the ’90s about a women’s book club that must protect its suburban community from a mysterious stranger who turns out to be a real monster.”

Read-Alikes:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.